Tuesday, July 12, 2011

XENOHOLICS. OCTOBER. IMAGE COMICS. SHADOWLINE.

ARE YOU ADDICTED TO ALIENS?
 
Xenoholics Will Get Fans Addicted to Out-of-This-World New Series

Berkeley, CA – 12 July 2011 – For all your addictions of the extraterrestrial variety, from wild conspiracy theories to late night encounters with probes, the XENOHOLICS are here to help! In October, writer Joshua Williamson (DEAR DRACULA) and artist Seth Damoose (I HATE GALLANT GIRL) will offer their tongue-in-cheek support group to the masses by way of a new series from Image Comics and Shadowline.

Dan Duncan is contributing painted covers that make even little green men look good, and Damoose provides quirky, charismatic interior art with lots of personality and animation. Williamson promises that XENOHOLICS, as USAToday put it, "won't be a book that skimps on the out-of-towners."

“XENOHOLICS is about aliens and I didn’t want it to be one of those books where the aliens are only hinted at,” Williamson commented. “But aliens aren’t the only stars! There are also the crazy people who believe in them. I’ve always been fascinated with people who claimed to have been abducted or believe with all their hearts that aliens are out there… watching us. This is their story as they get thrown into a larger conspiracy, and we get to see how they react to it. Our main goal was to take the alien genre and spin the clich├ęs on their heads, creating without a doubt the weirdest book I’ve ever written.” 

"XENOHOLICS will do for aliens what CHEW did for cannibals," said Shadowline Publisher Jim Valentino. "It's smart, funny and surprising. A perfect addition to Shadowline's commitment to excellence in diversity and, I believe, our next hit."

Believe it or not, aliens are only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to conspiracies in this laugh-out-loud comic! While the XENOHOLICS may be there to help each other, it appears that not everyone in the group is being entirely honest about their encounters. Once readers have been introduced to XENOHOLIC's motley crew of alien addicts, they'll wonder, will any of these nuts ever be able to prove that aliens do in fact exist?

XENOHOLICS #1, a 32-page full color mature comedy comic book that will appeal to fans of CHEW and BOMB QUEEN, will be available for order in the August issue of Previews Catalog and goes on sale October 19, 2011 for $3.50.

ABOUT IMAGE COMICS
Image Comics is a comic book and graphic novel publisher founded in 1992 by a collective of best-selling artists. Image has since gone on to become one of the largest comics publishers in the United States. Image currently has five partners: Robert Kirkman, Erik Larsen, Todd McFarlane, Marc Silvestri and Jim Valentino. It consists of five major houses: Todd McFarlane Productions, Top Cow Productions, Shadowline, Skybound and Image Central. Image publishes comics and graphic novels in nearly every genre, sub-genre, and style imaginable. It offers science fiction, romance, horror, crime fiction, historical fiction, humor and more by the finest artists and writers working in the medium today. For more information, visit www.imagecomics.com.

SAVAGE SWORD!! OF CONAN! OCTOBER!

Coming this October, I have a short Detective Story in Dark Horse's Robert E Howard Savage Sword Anthology. It was a blast to work on a mystery, which I love to write, but it was even cooler writing a character created by one of the greatest fantasy writers ever.  Also, my buddies Paul Tobin and Jeremy Barlow have stories in the same issue!  
ROBERT E. HOWARD’S SAVAGE SWORD #3
David Lapham (W), Paul Tobin (W), Jeremy Barlow (W), Wellinton Alves (A), Joshua Williamson (W), Patric Reynolds (A), Cobiaco (A), Tony Parker (A), Gerald Parel (Cover), and others On sale Oct 26
FC, 80 pages $7.99 Ongoing
Paul Tobin and Wellinton Alves conclude their Conan adventure, David Lapham and Fabio Cobiaco tell a high-seas adventure featuring King Kull’s right-hand man Brule, Jeremy Barlow and Tony Parker adapt a cowboy adventure by Howard, Joshua Williamson and Patric Reynolds team up to revive Howard’s gritty detective Steve Harrison, and we bring you part one of the classic graphic novel Kull: The Vale of Shadow!

Friday, July 1, 2011

SKETCH MONSTERS Vol. 1

ONI PRESS is releasing mine and Vinny's next kid's book SKETCH MONSTERS this October. 
 People always talk about how they want more comics for kids... well... here you go. Created by me and Vinny the team behind Dead Dracula, Sketch Monsters is perfect for children of all ages, young and old.
 Be sure to  go to your local comic book store and PRE-ORDER, PRE-ORDER, PRE-ORDER.

Sketch Monsters Vol 1 (hardcover)
Escape of the Scribbles. 
(W) Joshua Williamson
(A/C) Vicente 'Vinny' Navarrete

Eight year old Mandy isn't what you'd call an emotional child. Whether at her own surprise birthday party, scoring the winning goal, or being stung by a bee, Mandy doesn't show her feelings. Instead she draws them as MONSTERS in her sketchbook. But one day emotions run wild and those monsters escape! Mandy's only help catching them is an eccentric monster named Happster, who causes more problems than he solves. Can Mandy catch all the sketch monsters and return them to her sketchbook before they destroy her town?

It is also available for pre-order on Amazon. Click here for Amazon.